More quilts and inspiration

My little granddaughter, the 5 year old, really, really, really loved the pink, black, and white quilt I just finished. She begged for it. When I asked what she liked about it she said it was pink and bright.

What my baby Kam wants, my baby Kam gets. Gramma just picked up some more material to make sweet baby Kam a quilt. (Who’s spoiled??) She also likes the color purple to the extreme so my plan is to make a pink, purple, black, and white quilt. The new material will combine with some I already have in my scrap material drawers. I think I will make a log cabin quilt with thick stripes. The finished blacks will be 12″x 12″. The center will be 4″ blocks.

Materials for a pink and purple quilt

Materials for a pink and purple quilt

My oldest granddaughter, 13 years old, has decided to change the color of her bedroom. For a few years now it has been a vivid pink with black and white zebra. Her school mascot is a zebra so everything in her room has reflected that.

She must be growing up because she has now decided to go with teal, black, and white – no zebra. She can still incorporate many things she already has in her room like her new black bean bag chair. This is such a sophisticated color palette. I am a bit surprised that she chose it. This is her inspiration picture. How peaceful is this?! I like the little zings of orange as accent color, but I think Kaylea is going with a coral red. Pretty!

Inspiration

Inspiration

I found this material yesterday and thought it was perfect. It will be the basis for a new quilt for her room. I think it’s lovely. Now to find some additional fabrics and to find the perfect piece with the coral red in it. I don’t want too much though. Just a little flair here and there will be sufficient.

Teal, black, and white material

Teal, black, and white material

Leave a Reply

